Women Grand Prix Series
The FIDE Women Grand Prix is a new series of elite tournaments which will be organised by FIDE and Global Chess. There will be 6 legs over two years in various countries around the world with three tournaments every year.

The winner of each tournament will win 6,500 euros out of a prize fund of 40,000 euros and the overall winner of the series will win a further 15,000 euros at the end of the series.

This is the first time that such a series is being organised and is a significant development for the chess world. The introduction of the Grand Prix series means that there will be a World Championship contest annually now from 2010. In that year, the Champion will be determined from the World Championship Knockout which will also be held in Turkey and the following year, 2011, the World Champions will face the Winner of the Grand Prix series 2009/2010 in a match for the title.

This will be one of the strongest women tournaments of all times and it is important to point out that there are three ex-world Champions taking part as well as the highest ranked women players in the world.

FIDE announces that the arranged dates of the other four tournaments for the Women's FIDE Grand-Prix 2009/2010 are as follows. 

Please download Women's FIDE Grand Prix 2009/2010 Schedule in PDF format.

Nalchik, Russia 23rd April - 6th May 2010
Jermuk, Armenia 23rd June- 6th July 2010
Ulanbaatar, Mongolia 29 July - 12 August 2010
Santiago, Chile
27th October- 9th November 2010

© FIDE Grand Prix 2009 - 2010    |    |    |    Powered by Turkish Chess Federation